Wisconsin History of Historic Preservation: Overview | HPC Training | Wisconsin Historical Society

Guide or Instruction

Chapter 2: Preservation Laws and Programs

Table of Contents

Wisconsin History of Historic Preservation: Overview | HPC Training | Wisconsin Historical Society
  • Page 1: National Preservation Laws and Statutes
    The three major federal historic preservation laws largely concern the effects of federal undertakings.
  • Page 2: State Preservation Laws and Statutes
    State preservation laws enable local governments to pass ordinances for the protection and preservation of historic sites.
  • Page 3: State Historic Preservation Offices
    State governors throughout the U.S. appoint a State Historic Preservation Office to carry out the responsibilities of the National Historic Preservation Act.
  • Page 4: Certified Local Government (CLG) Program
    The Certified Local Government program helps local governments integrate historic preservation concerns with local planning decisions. A community must have a qualified historic preservation commission to be eligible for CLG status and its benefits.
  • Page 5: National Register and State Register of Historic Places
    The National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of properties that possess significant architectural, historical, or cultural characteristics. Properties in the State Register of Historic Places have characteristics significant to Wisconsin's heritage.
  • Page 6: Historic Preservation Tax Incentives
    Both federal and state income tax incentive programs are available for rehabilitation of historic properties that are either listed in or eligible for the National Register or State Register of Historic Places.
  • Page 7: Community Development Block Grants
    The Community Development Block Grants program provides annual grants to qualified jurisdictions to develop viable urban communities. This program can support historic preservation by helping residents to maintain and upgrade historic homes.