Society Research Fellowships

D.C. Everest Fellowship

Amy Louise Hunter Fellowship

Alice E. Smith Fellowship

The D.C. Everest, Amy Louise Hunter, and Alice E. Smith Fellowships support research and writing for publication of books by the Wisconsin Historical Society Press. Professional and nonprofessional writers, academics, and independent scholars are invited to apply. Only individuals, not organizations, are eligible, and grants are given in the amount of $1,000-$2,000.

The Everest, Hunter, and Smith awards may deal with any topic eligible for publication by the Wisconsin Historical Society Press. All applications are automatically considered for all awards. The Wisconsin Historical Society Press publishes books dealing with Wisconsin history and culture.

The Wisconsin Historical Society Press has the right of first refusal for any manuscripts developed with these awards. Grant recipients are required to submit book manuscripts first to the Society Press. The fellowship is considered as payment for publication rights. If the Society declines to publish the work, rights revert back to the author.

How to Apply

Applications consist of a cover sheet, resume, and completed book proposal. Applications are accepted year round.

Submit completed applications to:

Wisconsin Historical Society Press
816 State Street
Madison, WI 53706-1482


The Society's research fellowships are named in honor of:

  • D. C. Everest, past president of the Board of Curators of the Wisconsin Historical Society and past president and chairman of the board of the Marathon Corporation.
  • Dr. Amy Louise Hunter, director of the Wisconsin Bureau of Child and Maternal Health from 1935 through 1960.
  • Alice Smith, director of research at the Wisconsin Historical Society from 1947 to 1965 and author of six books and numerous articles on the state's history.