Wisconsin Historical Society

Organizational Description

Wisconsin Historical Society Leadership

About the Leadership at the Wisconsin Historical Society | Wisconsin Historical Society

We have a tradition of the best and brightest people leading the way for the Wisconsin Historical Society. Our leaders care deeply about Wisconsin's rich heritage and inspire the vision for the future of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Many are volunteers offering their expertise, time and passion to ensure that we pass on our stories to future generations.

The Wisconsin Historical Society is both a state agency and a membership organization. A strong public-private partnership can be seen through the community leaders on various volunteer boards of the Wisconsin Historical Society. These leaders, volunteers, donors and staff work together to enable the Society to share stories.

Society Board of Curators

The 34-member Board of Curators governs the Society. The Board includes eight statutory appointments and up to 30 curators who are selected according to the Society's constitution and bylaws. Three curators, appointed by the governor with Senate consent, serve staggered three-year terms. The board selects the Society's director, who serves as administrative head of the Society and as secretary to the board. View the current Board of Curators member list.

Society Director

Christian Øverland
The Ruth and Hartley Barker Director

Society Senior Leadership Team

Christian Øverland
The Ruth and Hartley Barker Director

Wes Mosman Block
Chief Operating Officer

Matt Blessing
State Archivist and Administrator,
Division of Library, Archives, and Museum Collections

Daina Penkiunas
State Historic Preservation Officer 
State Historic Preservation Office

Kate Easton
Legislative Liaison

Kelly Frawley
Director of Facilities Planning and Management

Laura Ingersoll
Director of Marketing and Communications

Dave Desimone
Interim Administrator, Division of Museums and Historic Sites

Julie Lussier
Managing Director, Wisconsin Historical Foundation

Bobby Marshment-Howell
Interim Director of Information Technology

Vicki Halverson
Executive Staff Assistant

Laura Tetting
Director of Human Resources

Shannon Wendt
Director of Finance and Policy
Interim Director of Programs and Outreach

Chief Program Officer

Learn More