| Additional Information: | Carpenter was Robert W. Raasch. William S. Buckley had his own law firm and interests in Colorado mining. Locally designated district: 7/12/1983.
The William S. Buckley House at 2217-19 Ivanhoe may not be as pretentious as many of the other residences in the district but is none the less a significant contributing element. The house is a good example of vernacular architecture that incorporates Queen Anne elements in its design. Built in 1895 for a prominent Milwaukee lawyer, the house is two stories of wood frame in a rectangular shape. The roof is front gabled with a side gable extension. The house was sided with asphalt siding in the 1940s but this detracts little from it's historic integrity. All of the decorative Victorian features remain on the exterior such as the leaded glass transoms, verge board with dentils on the cornice of the gable, and carved porch posts. The basic floor plan remains basically intact but the interior has been altered to accommodate conversion into a two family flat.
The William S. Buckley House, 2217-19 E. Ivanhoe Place is a 2-flat, rectangular shaped, 2-story residential structure. Classified as a contributing structure to the district, it is a wood frame structure with a limestone foundation. Built as a single family residence in 1895 and as evidenced by the simple victorian floor plan still remaining. At the present time, all elevations are clad in asphalt siding, however, originally it was sheathed in narrow 4" clapboard wood siding. The west elevation contains a small porch that still contains the original decorative carved porch posts although the porch, itself, has been enclosed. All decorative victorian features remain on the overall exterior, such as leaded glass transoms, vergeboards with dentils on the cornice of the gable, and carved porch posts.
The interior of the structure has been altered over the years, mainly due to its conversion to a 2-flat. The first floor plan remains somewhat intact, displaying the original entry hall and stair, living room, parlor, dining room, kitchen and possibly bathroom. It is thought that the original fireplace has been removed. The 4" pine floors have been covered with linoleum, in the dining room, kitchen & parlor. The original carved oak banister remains in the front entryway, many of the original doors, original wood floor, ceiling and door molding, and some leaded glass. The second floor contains a total of five rooms of which one is a converted kitchen and another a small bathroom. Originally the second floor probably contained 3-4 bedrooms. There is a rear stairway leading to the third floor which is basically a large open and unfinished space. |