COVID-19 Updates: For the most up-to-date information on accessing our services learn more here.

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators | Wisconsin Historical Society

Organizational Description

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators | Wisconsin Historical Society

The Wisconsin Historical Society is both a state agency and a membership organization. The Society's Board of Curators includes eight statutory appointments and up to 30 curators who are selected according to the Society's constitution and bylaws. The three curators appointed by the governor with Senate consent serve staggered three-year terms. The board selects the Society's director, who serves as administrative head of the Society and as secretary to the board.

Board of Curators Members
Greg Huber
WausauJudge, Marathon County Circuit Court
Angela Bartell
MiddletonRetired Judge, Dane County
Christian Overland
MadisonThe Ruth and Hartley Barker Director & CEO, Wisconsin Historical Society
Walter Rugland
AppletonRetired Executive Vice President, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans
Past President
Brian Rude
Coon ValleyRetired executive, Dairyland Power Cooperative
Ex-Officio Board Member
Tommy Thompson
MadisonInterim President, University of Wisconsin System
Ex-Officio Board Member
Cindy Arbiture
 SullivanPresident, Wisconsin Council for Local History
Ex-Officio Board Member
Theresa Richards
MarshfieldChair, Wisconsin Historical Foundation, Board of Directors
Ex-Officio Board Member
Laura Cramer
NeenahPresident, FRIENDS of the Wisconsin Historical Society
Sherman BankerMadisonRetired State Employee (Governor Appointee)
Mary BuestrinMequonRepublican National Committee
Rep. Jill BillingsLa CrosseWisconsin State Legislator
Eric BorgerdingMadisonPresident and CEO, Wisconsin Hospital Association
Ramona GonzalezLa CrosseCircuit Court Judge, La Crosse County
Mary Jane HerberDe PereBrown County Library
Rep. Cody HorlacherMukwonagoWisconsin State Legislator
Joanne HuelsmanWaukeshaRetired Attorney and Wisconsin State Legislator
Thomas MaxwellMarinettePresident, Farmers & Merchants Bank & Trust
Susan McLeodMahtomedia, MNFormer Director, Chippewa Valley Museum
Janan NajeebMequonPresident, Milwaukee Muslim Women's Coalition
Lowell PetersonAppletonRetired Cardiologist
Donald SchottMadisonRetired attorney
Thomas Shriner Jr.ShorewoodAttorney
Robert SmithMilwaukeeAssociate Professor, Marquette University Department of History
Leonard SobczakMilwaukeeEastmore Real Estate Mgt.
John ThompsonMadisonFounder, Thompson Investment Management, Inc.
Dr. Chia Youyee VangGlendaleProfessor, UW Milwaukee Department of History
Sen. Van WanggaardRacineWisconsin State Legislator
Dr. Rebecca WebsterOneidaProfessor, Department of American Indian Studies, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Keene WintersWausauInvestment Advisor, Great Lakes Financial Management Group (Governor Appointee)
Terri YohoAdellConsultant - Kohler Foundation
Cate ZeuskeGreen BayConsultant (Governor Appointee)
Aharon ZoreaRichland CenterProfessor of History, University of Wisconsin-Richland Center

Learn More

Have Questions?

If you would like to reach a board member, please contact the Director's Office at 608-264-6440